DBT (Direct Benefit Transfer) Scheme

Direct Benefit Transfer Schemes in the state

Government of India launched the Direct Benefit Transfer (DBT) Program on 1st Jan 2013 to directly transfer the benefits to the under-privileged population covered under 34 central schemes. With DBT program, GoI aims to make payments directly into the Aadhaar linked bank accounts of the end beneficiaries, removing any malpractices from the existing system such as diversions and duplicate payments.

The primary aim of this Direct Benefit Transfer program is to bring transparency and terminate pilferage from distribution of funds sponsored by Central Government of India. In DBT, benefit or subsidy will be directly transferred to the citizens living below poverty line. No subsidy will be given to those people who don't require it. Central Plan Scheme Monitoring System (CPSMS), being implemented by the Office of Controller General of Accounts will act as the common platform for routing DBT. CPSMS can be used for the preparation of beneficiary list, digitally signing the same and processing of payments in the bank accounts of the beneficiary using the Aadhaar Payment Bridge of NPCI. All relevant orders related with the DBT are also available on the CPSMS website.

Programs part of DBT

Primarily, the central schemes covered under DBT are:-

  • National Child Labour Project
  • Student Scholarships
  • LPG subsidy
  • Dhanlakshmi Scheme
  • Janani Surakhsha Yojna

On June 1st, the Minister of Petroleum & Natural Gas, GOI formally launched the scheme direct benefit transfer for LPG (DBTL) Scheme in 20 high Aadhaar coverage districts. The subsidy on LPG cylinders will be credited directly credited to consumers Aadhaar linked bank account. All Aadhaar linked domestic LPG consumers will get an advance in their bank account as soon as they book the first subsidized cylinder before delivery. On receiving the first subsidized cylinder subsidy for next will again get credited in their bank account, which can then be available for the purchase of the next subsidized cylinder at market rate until the cap of 9 cylinders per year is reached.

In Punjab for pilot phase, 3 districts namely Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar, Gurdaspur and Fatehgarh Sahib were selected under the DBT program under various scholarship and assistance programs. At the end of pilot phase (till 31st March 2013) a total of 8,841 transactions amounting to a total sum of Rs. 4,62,90,535/- were made beneficiaries. Punjab was ranked 1st DBT pilot.

During Phase II in Punjab, 2 additional districts (Barnala and Jalandhar) were added. The DBT program in these additional districts was launched on 1st July 2013. Till 30th Sep 2013 total of 72,696 transactions amounting to Rs. 7,92,53,597/- have been done under DBT.

Various departments are working towards standardization of data and process for smooth payments. There were some initiatives taken by few departments to standardize the existing DBT program, but those could not be completely adopted.

Back to Top